Skip to Content

LRGHealthcare Honors Erickson and LaChapelle with Rhoda C. Ladd and Sally Proctor Awards

LACONIA, NH- LRGHealthcare held its 17th Annual Meeting of its members April 10, 2019 at Laconia Country Club with almost 100 people in attendance. 
As part of the evening’s program, Scott Sullivan, Chairman of the LRGHealthcare Board of Trustees, presented the 2019 Rhoda C. Ladd and Sally Proctor Awards.  The awards are LRGHealthcare’s highest honors and are given annually to individuals who give of themselves to improve the community’s healthcare system. 
The 2019 Laconia based, Rhoda C. Ladd Award was presented to retired Laconia Fire Chief, Ken Erickson.  Ken retired as Laconia’s fire chief in 2018 after 17 years with the Department.  He was a strong, supportive and positive leader who worked tirelessly as an advocate for fire and emergency services. In retirement, Ken continues to have a positive impact on the community where he is active in organizations like Veterans Count, Easter Seals and the Partnership for Public Health just to name a few.  He also teaches chemistry and fire protection systems at Lakes Region Community College and goes to area fire departments to provide ongoing education. 
The Franklin based, Sally Proctor Award for 2019 honored Franklin’s retired Fire Chief, Kevin LaChapelle.  Kevin started with Franklin fire in 1988 and spent the last seven years of his career as fire chief and emergency management director.  Throughout his career, Kevin accomplished a lot.  He worked with other local rescuers to form the Three Rivers WET Team; worked closely with clinicians and advocacy groups within the opioid misuse crisis; and lead his department to create EMS360, a private and public partnership that will enhance the financial stability of EMS funding for Franklin Fire Department.  Kevin has also served the NH Association of Fire Chiefs and the Governor’s Opioid Death Review Committees, and was named the 2017 New Hampshire Emergency Management Director of the Year.
In addition to the presentation of awards, much of the evening’s program focused on the accomplishments and financial outcome of Fiscal Year 2018.  Positive highlights from the past year include LRGHealthcare’s achievement of ISO 9001 Certification, putting them among the top 5% of hospitals nationwide for the highest quality patient care standards.  LRGHealthcare also touted being credited with an ‘A’ in Patient Safety from the Leapfrog Group last year.  In addition, LRGHealthcare looks forward to completion of its newly renovated Emergency Department at Lakes Region General Hospital later this year for which construction began at the end of last year.
The topic of a partnership / affiliation for LRGHealthcare was also addressed.  No formal announcement was made, however Donovan shared that the Board of Trustees continues to explore a potential partnership with another organization.  Any potential partners have been kept confidential, however Donovan did share that while they were focused on one possible partner the last few months, they have recently shifted their focus to another.  He expects there will be a formal announcement sometime this year.
LRGHealthcare’s financial outcome for Fiscal Year 2018 (October 1, 2017- September 30, 2018) was an operating loss of $13 Million.  President and CEO, Kevin W. Donovan explained that while a $5 - $8 Million loss was expected, the increase was due in large part to the onetime expense of implementing the Electronic Health Record.   
The governance portion of the evening included the reappointment of Nancy LeRoy to the Board of Trustees.  Nancy retired from the Board last year and returned to fill the remainder of the term vacated by Russ Thibeault.  Members also voted on the re-elections of Scott Clarenbach and Mark Primeau for their next three-year terms. 
2018 members of the LRGHealthcare Board included Scott Sullivan, Chairman; Cynthia Baron, Vice Chairman; Gil Schohan, Secretary/Treasurer; William Bald; Scott Clarenbach; James Clements; Robert Evans, MD; Nancy Leroy; David Pearlman; K. Mark Primeau; Stuart Tracy; Vercin Ephrem, MD, President of Medical Staff; Samuel Aldridge, MD, Vice President of Medical Staff; and Paul Racicot, MD, Past President of Medical Staff.
Attendees also heard the medical staff report presented by President of Medical Staff, Vercin Ephrem, MD where he recognized all those providers who retired from or joined the organization in the last year.  To view the 2018 LRGHealthcare Annual Report, log on to  

Rhoda C. Ladd Award recipient, Ken Erickson with Scott Sullivan, LRGHealthcare Board Chairman and Kevin W. Donovan, LRGHealthcare President and CEO

Sally Proctor Award recipient, Kevin LaChapelle with Scott Sullivan, LRGHealthcare Board Chairman and Kevin W. Donovan, LRGHealthcare President and CEO
LRGHealthcare is a not-for-profit healthcare charitable trust representing Lakes Region General Hospital, Franklin Regional Hospital, and affiliated medical providers. LRGHealthcare’s mission is to provide quality, compassionate care and to strengthen the well-being of our community.
# # # #
View news archive
Back to top